Data protection and its long-awaited reform

Published on 18 Jun, 2018

At European level, Directive 95/45 regulated data protection. But it should not be said that since then, the data processing environment has completely changed: the evolution and use of the Internet alone, the emergence of social networks, smartphones, online banking and data storage in the cloud has had a strong impact in recent years.

 

Hence the necessity for the Commission to reform data protection legislation. After four years of discussions, the complete overhaul of the data protection regime was finally voted in April 2016 and will be implemented 2 years after its publication in the Official Journal, i.e. from 20 May 2018. The controllers concerned therefore have another year to comply.

 

The objective of this reform is to give users back the right to their personal data, to establish a high and harmonised level of data protection and to prepare the EU for the digital age.

 

The main changes are:

  • Explicit agreement: unless legally required for processing, the data subject must have consented to the processing of his or her personal data for one or more specific purposes. The data subject has the right to withdraw his or her consent at any time.

     

  • Limitation and minimisation of data: the data are limited to what is necessary for the purposes for which they are processed, the controller must guarantee their accuracy and their storage will also be limited.

     

  • The controller is required to provide the person with all information concerning the processing in a precise, transparent, easily accessible and, above all, understandable manner, i.e. in clear and simple terms.

     

  • The data subject has access to the data to either receive all the information related to the processing (purposes, recipients, storage period,…) or to request their rectification, processing limitation, erasure or portability of the data

     

  • At the request of the data subject, the person in charge must provide the data subject with the information requested within one month.

     

  • In order to comply as effectively as possible with legal obligations, controllers are required to keep a register of processing activities which includes not only a description of the data processed, but also all information relating to the processing.

     

  • The controller must collaborate with the authorities to ensure protection. In particular, he is obliged to notify any violation of personal data to both the authority and the data subject.

     

  • Under certain conditions, the head must even appoint a Data Protection Officer to advise him or her on all data protection issues.

    There is a need to raise awareness and prepare for the implementation of the new data protection regulations.

Categories

La protection des données et sa réforme longtemps attendue

Publié le 18 Juin, 2018

Au niveau européen, la Directive 95/45 réglementait la protection des données. Mais il ne faut pas dire que depuis lors, l’environnement du traitement des données a complètement changé : rien que l’évolution et l’utilisation de l’internet, l’apparition des réseaux sociaux, des smartphones, online-banking et le stockage de données dans le cloud a fortement marqué ces dernières années.

D’où la nécessité qui a vu la Commission de réformer la législation relative à la protection des données. Après quatre ans de discussions, la refonte complète du régime de la protection des données a finalement été votée en avril 2016 et sera appliquée 2 ans après sa publication au Journal Officiel, c’est-à-dire à partir du 20 mai 2018. Les responsables de traitement concernés ont dès lors encore un an pour se conformer.

Le but de cette réforme est de redonner aux utilisateurs le droit sur leur données personnelles, à instaurer un niveau élevé et harmonisé de la protection des données ainsi que de préparer l’UE à l’ère numérique.

Les principales modifications sont :

  • Accord explicite : sauf obligation légale pour le traitement, il faut que la personne concernée ait consenti au traitement de ses données à caractère  personnel  pour  une  ou  plusieurs  finalités spécifiques. La personne concernée a le droit de retirer son consentement à tout moment.

 

  • Limitation et minimisation des données : les données sont limitées à ce qui est nécessaire au regard des  finalités  pour  lesquelles  elles  sont  traitées, le responsable doit garantir leur exactitude et leur conservation sera également limitée.

 

  • Le responsable est tenu de fournir à la personne toutes les informations concernant le traitement et ceci d’une façon précise, transparente, aisément accessible et surtout de manière compréhensible c’est-à-dire en des termes clairs et simples.

 

  • La personne concernée à un accès sur les données pour soit recevoir toutes les informations liés au traitement (les finalités, les destinataires, la durée de conservation,…) soit pour demander leur rectification, la limitation du traitement, leur effacement ou la portabilité des données

 

  • Sur une telle demande de la personne concernée, le responsable doit fournir endéans un délai d’un mois les informations demandées à la personne concernée.

 

  • Afin de répondre au mieux aux obligations légales, les responsables sont tenus à tenir un registre des activités de traitement qui ne comporte pas seulement une description des données traitées, mais également toutes les informations quant au traitement.

 

  • Le responsable de traitement doit collaborer avec les autorités afin de garantir la protection. Il est notamment obligé à notifier toute violation de données à caractère personnel aussi bien à l’autorité qu’à la personne concernée.

 

  • Dans certaines conditions, le responsable doit même désigner un délégué à la protection des données qui le conseille dans toutes les questions liées à la protection des données.

 

Il faut se sensibiliser et se préparer à la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle réglementation sur la protection des données.

Catégories