The Opt-In and Opt-out methods

Published on 3 Jul, 2018

You have different possibilities to generate new email addresses. We will present you the differences between Single Opt-in and Double Opt-in.

– Opt-in methods :

You will register using a standard form on a website. You must be careful to spread trust to your stakeholders from the very beginning. Make sure that interested parties know that you will not pass on data to other companies, and that you will only use the information for the newsletter. There are two methods here:

– Single Opt-in
– Double Opt-in
– Note: For the Opt-in soft, you will use existing addresses.

Single Opt-in

The interested party, after completing the form, will automatically be registered as a subscriber to your newsletter, without any particular control.

Single Opt-in is certainly a fairly easy method, but it is very controversial legally. In the event of a dispute, the person who sent the email has the burden of proof: he must demonstrate that the person who obtained it has given his consent.

Try not to use this method

Double Opt-in

The express agreement of the recipient is required for this Double Opt-in method. This acceptance must be given in a separate email. The interested party will obtain directly after filling in his form an email where an acceptance link will be displayed. This link must be open. Until this link has been opened, the potential subscriber will not have a newsletter. After opening, the recipient will be in the list of subscribers.

You are therefore sure that you have the agreement of the email recipient by using Double Opt-in. And the probability will be smaller, that the mail goes directly into the Spam folder.

Soft Opt-in

Among your already registered customers, the sending of advertising emails is possible, under certain conditions.

-The advertisement must refer to products or services comparable to those already ordered by the customer.
-In addition, the customer must not have contradicted the use of his data for this purpose.

If you do not have an email address for one of your customers, you should call them to get it. This will increase your list.

Opt-Out method

If there is Opt-in, you must always offer your customers the possibility to unsubscribe from your newsletter, therefore the Opt-out. It doesn’t matter how you do it: you can offer it through a particular link or textual information.

At first you will be sad about each Opt-out. However, you must see the positive side. These people are not interested enough, so they sort them out themselves. You will keep those who have a real interest, and who can change into real regular customers. Your conversion rate will increase and the quality of your mailing list will also increase.

 

La qualité de vos textes est cruciale

Categories

Les méthodes Opt-In et Opt-out

Publié le 3 Juil, 2018

Vous avez différentes possibilités pour générer de nouvelles adresses mail. Nous allons vous présenter les différences entre Single Opt-in et Double Opt-in.

  • Méthodes Opt-in :

vous allez vous inscrire par un formulaire standardisé sur un site-web. Vous devez faire attention à diffuser dès le début de la confiance auprès de vos intéressés. Faites en sorte que les intéressés savent que vous n’allez pas transmettre des données à d’autres entreprises, et que vous n’allez utiliser les informations que pour la newsletter. Il y a deux méthodes ici :

  • Single Opt-in
  • Double Opt-in
  • Remarque : pour le soft Opt-in, vous allez utiliser des adresses déjà existantes.

Single Opt-in

L’intéressé, après avoir rempli le formulaire, sera automatiquement enregistré comme abonné de votre newsletter, et cela sans contrôle particulier.

Le Single Opt-in est certes une méthode assez facile, mais très disputée légalement. En cas de litige, celui qui a envoyé le mail a la charge de la preuve : il doit démontrer que celui qui l’a obtenue a donné son accord.

Essayez de ne pas utiliser cette méthode

Double Opt-in

L’accord exprès du destinataire est nécessaire pour cette méthode du Double Opt-in. Cette acceptation doit être donnée dans un mail séparé. L’intéressé va obtenir directement après le remplissage de son formulaire un mail où s’affichera un lien d’acceptation. Ce lien doit être ouvert. Tant que ce lien n’a pas été ouvert, l’abonné potentiel n’aura pas de newsletter. Après l’ouverture, le destinataire sera dans la liste des abonnés.

Vous êtes donc sûr que vous avez l’accord du destinataire de l’email en utilisant le Double Opt-in. Et la probabilité sera plus petite, que le mail va directement dans le dossier Spam.

Soft Opt-in

Parmi vos clients déjà enregistrés, l’envoi de mails publicitaires est possible, sous certaines conditions.

  • La publicité doit se référer à des produits ou services comparables à ceux qui ont déjà une fois été commandés par le client.
  • De plus le client ne doit pas avoir contredit à l’utilisation de ses données pour cette fin.

Si vous n’avez pas d’adresse mail d’un de vos clients, il convient de leur téléphoner pour l’obtenir. Vous allez ainsi augmenter votre liste.

  • Méthode Opt-Out

S’il y a l’Opt-in, vous devez toujours offrir à vos clients la possibilité de se désinscrire de votre newsletter, donc l’Opt-out. Le moyen de le faire importe peu : vous pouvez l’offrir par un lien particulier ou une information textuelle.

Au début vous allez être triste de chaque Opt-out. Cependant vous devez voir le côté positif. Ces gens ne sont pas assez intéressés, et donc ils font leur tri eux-mêmes. Vous allez garder ceux qui ont un intérêt véritable, et qui peuvent changer en véritables clients réguliers. Votre taux de conversion va augmenter et la qualité de votre liste d’adresse augmente aussi.

 

 

Catégories