The 3 mistakes to avoid when cleaning up after a disaster

Published on 10 Apr, 2019

When a disaster occurs, it is important to act quickly to start the clean-up work as soon as possible. There are many companies specialising in this field in Luxembourg and they offer you a wide range of services depending on their areas of expertise and the performance of their equipment. In this article we propose you the mistakes to avoid so that the cleaning after disaster happens in the best conditions.

Mistake #1: First come, first retained!

Some companies take advantage of the shock of their potential customers. They arrive at the same time as the rescuers, come with a contract, and have it signed by the dismayed owner! This is absurd and unethical, but unfortunately it often happens. How many people who thought they had signed a contract for an exclusive door and window barricade service found themselves some time later with a contract for comprehensive disaster clean-up services. Employees of post-disaster companies who are successful in bringing back a contract signed at the time of the disaster demonstrate high business skills in the eyes of their company and benefit from a very high commission.

Advice: Contact an independent claims adjuster in the early hours who works independently of insurance companies and disaster cleaners, instead taking care of the collaboration between the two, making a damage assessment, an inventory of damaged property, and negotiating a preferential settlement with the insurer and advantageous prices with the disaster cleaners. The independent claims adjuster is very useful in overcoming this difficult situation, especially in the event of major property damage or death.

Mistake #2: Do not estimate costs

To protect yourself, require that the estimates be clear, precise and well detailed for all interventions, even very small ones. Because in the event of a defect or disagreement you can win your case after your recourse to the courts. This is also a test of the company’s reactivity, which must ensure that your requests are answered in a timely manner. Take the one that offers you a very concise price range on your first visit. Find out about employees’ hourly rates, the number of days it takes to complete all work, the types of related services and their rates such as moving, storage, furniture cleaning or other services.

Mistake #3: Sign the contract without having inquired about all its clauses

Still under the sidereal shock of the disaster and the losses are already counted in very large sums, the owners can launch into a commitment that they risk paying very high prices afterwards, by signing a blind contract. Some misguided companies offer contracts with vague clauses that do not clearly specify all the details. If the clauses of the undertaking are indecipherable, you can urgently call on an expert who can help you understand the agreement you are about to sign.

Les 3 erreurs à éviter lors d’un nettoyage après sinistre

Publié le 10 Avr, 2019

Quand un sinistre survient, il faut vite s’activer pour entamer les travaux de nettoyage après-sinistre dans les plus brefs délais. Les entreprises spécialisées dans le domaine sont nombreuses au Luxembourg et vous proposent des prestations variées en fonction de leurs domaines de compétences et de la performance de leurs équipements. Dans cet article nous vous proposons les erreurs à éviter pour que le nettoyage après sinistre se passe dans les meilleures conditions.

Erreur N° 1 : Premier venu, premier retenu !

Certaines entreprises profitent de l’état de choc de leur potentiel client. Elles arrivent en même temps que les secouristes, viennent munies d’un contrat, et le font signer par le propriétaire consterné ! Ceci est absurde et anti-déontologique mais cela arrive souvent malheureusement. Combien de personnes qui croyaient avoir signé un contrat pour un service exclusif de barricade des portes et des fenêtres se sont retrouvées quelques temps après avec un contrat de prestations complètes de nettoyage après-sinistre. Les employés des entreprises après sinistre qui réussissent à ramener un contrat signé au moment du sinistre font preuve de compétences commerciales élevées aux yeux de leur entreprise et bénéficient d’une commission très importante.

Conseil : Contactez dès les premières heures un expert en sinistre indépendant qui travaille en toute indépendance des compagnies d’assurance et des entreprises de nettoyage après sinistre, il se charge plutôt de la collaboration entre les deux, de faire une évaluation des dommages, un inventaire des biens abîmés, et de négocier un règlement préférentiel avec l’assureur et des prix avantageux avec l’entreprise du nettoyage après sinistre. L’expert en sinistre indépendant est très utile pour surpasser cette situation difficile particulièrement en cas de dégâts matériels importants, ou s’il y a un décès.

Erreur N°2 : Ne pas faire estimer les coûts

Pour bien vous protéger, exigez à ce que les devis soient clairs, précis et bien détaillés de toutes les interventions même celles de très petite envergure. Car en cas de malfaçon ou de désaccord vous pouvez obtenir gain de cause après votre recours à la justice. Ceci est aussi un test de réactivité de l’entreprise qui doit assurer des réponses en toute diligence à vos demandes. Prenez celle qui vous propose une échelle de prix bien concise dès votre première visite. Renseignez-vous sur le taux horaire des employés, le nombre de jours nécessaires pour terminer tous les travaux, les types de services connexes et leur tarifs comme le déménagement, l’entreposage, le nettoyage des meubles ou autres.

Erreur N°3 : Signer le contrat sans s’être enquis de la totalité de ses clauses

Encore sous le choc sidéral suite au sinistre et les pertes se comptent déjà en des sommes très importantes, les propriétaires peuvent se lancer dans un engagement qu’ils risquent de payer très cher par la suite, en signant un contrat à l’aveugle. Certaines entreprises mal-intentionnées proposent des contrats avec des clauses vagues ne précisant pas clairement tous les détails. Si les clauses de l’engagement sont indéchiffrables, vous pouvez recourir en urgence à un expert qui saura vous faire comprendre l’entente que vous vous apprêtez à signer.