Money laundering – an endless story

Published on 29 Jul, 2018

The approach introduced by the 3rd Directive of 2005 was to better identify the different cases, understand the circumstances and mitigate the risks of money laundering and terrorist financing. Although the aim seemed clear, the transposition of these provisions by Member States was problematic, although they sometimes gave divergent national interpretations. In the past, these disparities have made it difficult to exchange and monitor procedures at supranational level, although this is necessary, while money laundering is also organised at international level.

Adopted on 20 May 2015, Directive (EU) 2015/849, known as the 4th Anti-Money Laundering Directive, continues towards a risk-based approach and provides for stricter rules on money laundering in order to further combat tax evasion and terrorist financing. In doing so, it takes into account the recommendations made by the FATF (International Financial Action Task Force) in 2012.

At the express request of the European Parliament, it provides in particular that the final “effective” properties of companies and other legal entities must be recorded in a central register managed at national level by each Member State. This register will be accessible to the authorities and their financial intelligence services to all those who have a “legitimate interest” such as investigative journalists.

The text of the Directive also clarifies the provisions concerning “politically exposed” persons where, because of their political mandate, there is a higher risk of corruption than usual.

The Directive provided for a period of 2 years for its transposition. In the light of the attacks of 13 November 2015 in Paris and 22 March 2016 in Brussels, the European Commission, in its action plan against terrorist financing, called on the Member States to bring forward the date of effective transposition of the Directive to the end of 2016.

On 26 April 2017, the Ministry of Finance introduced Bill 7128 to transpose the provisions of the 4th Directive (EU) 2015/849. An in-depth analysis of this text will appear in a future edition.
Crafts and money laundering

But when we say “terrorist financing”, how is the craft sector affected?

There are precisely two situations where a professional is concerned by the fight against money laundering:

  • The acceptance of cash provided for in the 2004 law which provides that “Other natural or legal persons trading in goods, only to the extent that payments are made in cash for an amount of at least 15,000 euros, whether the transaction is carried out in a single transaction or in the form of split transactions that appear linked”.

The new draft law tabled provides for a reduction of this ceiling to 10,000 Euro, which will undoubtedly increase the transactions targeted and thus the obligations of professionals with regard to its vigilance.

  • The loan proposal

This includes transactions, made on a commercial basis and in the name or on behalf of their customers, in consumer credit, mortgage credit, factoring with or without recourse, and the financing of commercial transactions

This results in the following 6 professional obligations:

1.  The obligation of identification

The obligation to verify the identity of customers (the “know your customers”) must be done before establishing a business relationship or executing the transaction. It includes the obligation to identify the customer and the beneficial owner.

2.  The obligation to keep data

This period is at least 5 years after the end of the business relationship, without prejudice to longer retention periods prescribed by other laws.

3.  The obligation of vigilance

The professional must obtain information on the purpose and intended nature of the transaction and business relationship. He must do everything possible to know the origin of the goods and assets involved in the transaction. In case of doubt, the trader shall take all appropriate measures to remove the doubt, otherwise he shall refrain from executing the transaction.

There are 4 situations where the professional must be particularly vigilant:

  • at the beginning of the business relationship: from the first contact.
  • when concluding, on an occasional basis, a transaction for an amount of at least 15,000 euros, whether the transaction is carried out in a single transaction or in several transactions between which a link seems to exist.
  • where there is a suspicion of money laundering or terrorist financing, regardless of any applicable thresholds, exemptions or derogations.
  • when there are doubts about the veracity or relevance of data previously obtained for the purpose of identifying a customer.

 

However, the scope of vigilance may be adjusted according to the risk associated with the type of customer, business relationship, product or transaction concerned.

Thus, due diligence obligations can be simplified when there is a low risk of bleaching or reinforced if not.

This risk analysis of the company’s activity must be documented in writing.

For the execution of due diligence measures, the professional may use the services of a third party. However, it should be noted that the ultimate responsibility for the fulfilment of these obligations remains with professionals who use third parties.

4.  The obligation to have an adequate internal organisation

Professionals are required to put in place adequate and appropriate measures and procedures for customer due diligence, to raise awareness and train their relevant employees and to appoint a manager who ensures that the provisions are properly complied with.

5.  The obligation to cooperate with the authorities

Professionals, their managers and employees are required to cooperate fully with the Luxembourg authorities responsible for combating money laundering and terrorist financing.

Professional secrecy shall not apply to the financial intelligence unit.

6.  The obligation of secrecy towards the client

Finally, the law prohibits professionals from disclosing to the client concerned or to third parties that information is communicated or provided to the authorities.

As far as sanctions are concerned, the texts provide for a fine of 1,250 to 1,250,000 euros for those who have knowingly violated their professional obligations. The simple negligence of non-compliance with their money laundering obligations, or the obstacle to the exercise of the powers of the Registration and Domain Administration, could give rise to a fine of around 250 to 250,000 euros. This fine may be imposed by the Director of the Registration and Domain Administration or his delegate, hence the importance once again of showing open collaboration with the administration’s services.

In order to raise awareness among companies and advise them in their efforts, the Federation of Craftsmen in collaboration with the Registration Administration has developed a “Guide to legal obligations in the fight against money laundering” which can be consulted in the member section of our website.

Le blanchiment d’argent – une histoire sans fin

Publié le 29 Juil, 2018

L’approche instaurée par la 3ème Directive de 2005 consistait à mieux identifier les différents cas, comprendre les circonstances et d’atténuer les risques de blanchiment et de financement du terrorisme. Bien que le but ait semblé clair, la transposition de ces dispositions par les Etats-membres posait problème alors qu’ils ont parfois donné des interprétations nationales divergentes. Ces disparités ont compliqué dans le passé l’échange et le suivi des procédures au niveau supranational pourtant nécessaire alors que le blanchiment s’organisé également au niveau international.

Votée le 20 mai 2015, la Directive (UE) 2015/849 dite 4ème Directive anti-blanchiment continue dans la direction d’une approche basée sur les risques et prévoit des règles plus strictes sur le blanchiment d’argent afin de lutter encore davantage contre l’évasion fiscale et le financement du terrorisme. Ce faisant, elle tient compte des recommandations faites par le GAFI (Groupe d’action financière international) en 2012.

Sur demande expresse du Parlement européen, elle prévoit notamment que les propriétés « effectifs » finaux de sociétés et d’autres entités légales devront être inscrits dans un registre central géré au niveau national par chaque Etat-membre. Ce registre sera accessible aux autorités et leurs services de renseignements financiers à tous ceux qui manifestent un « intérêt légitime » comme les journalistes d’investigation.

Le texte de la Directive clarifie également les dispositions concernant les personnes « politiquement exposés » où, en raison de leur mandat politique, il existe un risque de corruption plus élevé que d’habitude.

La Directive prévoyait un délai de 2 ans pour sa transposition. Au vu des attentats du 13 novembre 2015 à Paris et du 22 mars 2016 à Bruxelles, la Commission européenne, dans son plan d’action contre le financement du terrorisme, a enjoint les États membres d’avancer la date de transposition effective de la directive à la fin de l’année 2016.

 

En date du 26 avril 2017, le Ministère des finances a déposé le projet de loi n°7128 visant à transposer les dispositions de la 4ème Directive (UE) 2015/849. Une analyse approfondie de ce texte paraitra dans une prochaine édition.

 

L’artisanat et le blanchiment

Mais quand on dit « financement du terrorisme » le secteur de l’artisanat comment est-il touché ?

Il y a précisément deux situations où un professionnel est concerné par la lutte contre le blanchiment :

  • L’acceptation d’espècesprévu dans la  loi de 2004 qui dispose que  « Les autres personnes physiques ou morales négociant des biens, seulement dans la mesure où les paiements sont effectués en espèces pour un montant de 15.000 euros au moins, que la transaction soit effectuée en une seule fois ou sous la forme d’opérations fractionnées qui apparaissent liées ».

Le nouveau projet de loi déposé prévoit de réduire ce plafond à 10.000 Euro ce qui fera sans doute augmenter les opérations visés et ainsi les obligations des professionnels quant à sa vigilance.

  • La proposition de prêts

Sont visées les opérations, faites à titre commercial et au nom ou pour le compte de leurs clients, de crédits à la consommation, crédits hypothécaires, affacturage avec ou sans recours, et de financement de transactions commerciales.

De cela résultent les 6 obligations professionnelles suivantes :

1.   L’obligation d’identification

L’obligation de vérifier l’identité des clients (le « know your customers ») devra se faire au préalable avant l’établissement d’une relation d’affaire ou l’exécution de la transaction. Elle comprend l’obligation d’identification du client et du bénéficiaire effectif.

2.   L’obligation de conservation des données

Ce délai est d’au moins 5 ans après la fin de la relation d’affaires sans préjudice des délais de conservation plus longs prescrits par d’autres lois

3.   L’obligation de vigilance

Le professionnel doit obtenir des informations sur l’objet et la nature envisagée de la transaction et de la relation d’affaires. Il doit mettre tout en œuvre pour connaître l’origine des biens et avoirs faisant l’objet de la transaction. En cas de doute, le professionnel prendra toute mesure adéquate pour lever ce doute, sinon il devra s’abstenir d’exécuter la transaction.

l existe 4 situations où le professionnel doit être particulièrement vigilant:

  • au début de la relation d’affaires : dès le 1er contact.
  • lors de la conclusion, à titre occasionnel, d’une transaction d’un montant de 15.000 euros au moins, que la transaction soit effectuée en une seule ou plusieurs opérations entre lesquelles un lien semble exister.
  • lorsqu’il y a suspicion de blanchiment ou de financement du terrorisme, indépendamment de tous seuils, exemptions ou dérogations applicables
  • lorsqu’il existe des doutes concernant la véracité ou la pertinence des données précédemment obtenues aux fins de l’identification d’un client.

La portée de la vigilance peut cependant être ajustée en fonction au risque associé au type de client, de relation d’affaire, de produit ou de transaction concerné.

Ainsi, les obligations de vigilance peuvent être simplifiées lorsqu’il y a un faible risque de blanchiment ou renforcées dans le cas contraire.

Cette analyse du risque de l’activité de l’entreprise doit être consignée par écrit.

Pour l’exécution des mesures de vigilance, le professionnel pourra avoir recours aux services d’un tiers. Mais il faut préciser que la responsabilité finale dans l’exécution de ces obligations continue d’incomber aux professionnels qui recourent à des tiers.

4.   L’obligation de disposer d’une organisation interne adéquate

Les professionnels sont tenus de mettre en place des mesures et des procédures adéquates et appropriées en matière de vigilance à l’égard du client, de sensibiliser et former leurs employés concernés et de désigner un responsable qui veille au bon respect des dispositions.

5.   L’obligation de coopération avec les autorités

Les professionnels, leurs dirigeants et employés sont tenus de coopérer pleinement avec les autorités luxembourgeoises responsables de la lutte contre le blanchiment et contre le financement du terrorisme.

Le secret professionnel n’est pas applicable à l’égard de la cellule de renseignement financier.

6.   L’obligation de secret à l’égard du client

Finalement, la loi interdit aux professionnels de révéler au client concerné ou à des personnes tierces que des informations sont communiquées ou fournies aux autorités.

En ce qui concerne les sanctions, les textes prévoient une amende de 1.250 à 1.250.000 euros pour ceux qui ont contrevenu sciemment à leurs obligations professionnelles. La simple négligence de non-respect de leurs obligations en matière de blanchiment, ou l’obstacle à l’exercice des pouvoirs de l’Administration de l’enregistrement et des domaines, pourrait donner lieu à une amende d’ordre de 250 à 250.000 euros. Cette amende peut être prononcée par le directeur de l’Administration de l’enregistrement et des domaines ou son délégué, d’où l’importance encore une fois de montrer une collaboration ouverte avec les services de l’administration.

Afin de sensibiliser les entreprises et de les conseiller dans leur démarches, la Fédération des Artisans en collaboration avec l’Administration de l’enregistrement a élaboré un « Guide concernant les obligations légales en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment » qui est à consulter dans la section membre de notre site interne