Climatically neutral printing

Published on 30 May, 2018

Since 1 January 2018, the OSSA Printing Company, based in Niederanven, has joined the non-profit association myclimate Luxembourg, a leader in carbon offsetting in the printing sector in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Since its creation, OSSA printing has had a philosophy of environmental protection and the rational use of natural resources. Indeed, the OSSA printing house has been a member of the Superdrëckskëscht for 15 years and has been FSC certified for 10 years. In 2017 the lighting in the workshop and offices was changed to LED bulbs. The colours used are from the “Epple” brand, free of any mineral oil and designed on the basis of vegetable raw materials. At the beginning of 2018 the printing company changed from van to Norm Euro 6. The choice to offset all of its unavoidable greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions is in addition to the continuity of this commitment.

The first step is to analyse the activities and material flows of the printing company by myclimate Luxembourg. This carbon inventory, based on the myclimate smart3 software, was developed by myclimate and takes into account manufacturing, transport, upstream and downstream colours, among other things. Thus, the printing company has a global view of its greenhouse gas emissions from its activity.

Following this inventory, the printing works voluntarily offsets all of its unavoidable carbon emissions from its activity. The printing company will be rewarded with the myclimate label, which is recognised as a “climate-neutral printing company”. Through offsetting, myclimate Luxembourg will invest this collected fund in projects that meet very high standards. In addition to the very strict criteria, this project contributes to the SDG (Sustainable Development Goals)

OSSA Printing decided to dedicate the funds collected in the project: less deforestation in the tropical forest of Kakamega (Kenya). Locally produced Upesi ovens reduce wood consumption and thus contribute to the preservation of the exceptional vegetation and biodiversity of the Kakamega rainforest. The ovens have a clean combustion system and therefore produce less soot, which reduces respiratory tract infections in women and children. By curbing deforestation and the consumption of firewood, greenhouse gas emissions and the time women spend looking for firewood have been reduced.

 

The positive effects realized so far are:

  • 660 hectares of virgin forest are not deforested

  • 38,000 efficient furnaces are installed

  • 10 furnace production groups have been created

The primary goal is not to compensate, but to reduce carbon emissions from its activity as much as possible. For example, Printing OSSA has committed to making an annual carbon footprint to concretely measure the results of its efforts in the future. With the experts from myclimate Luxembourg the principles remain “Avoid – reduce – compensate” and “Do the best and offset the rest”.

Esch-sur-Alzette, May 30, 2018
About myclimate Luxembourg

myclimate Luxembourg a.s.b.l. is an association that was launched at the beginning of June 2008 by the energy agency, the Henri Tudor Public Research Centre (now: LIST) and Enovos Luxembourg. Myclimate is one of the largest providers of voluntary offsetting measures in the world. Its projects are characterized by the respect of very strict criteria. In addition, the association offers a comprehensive range of sustainability advice and raises awareness of climate change and climate protection through climate education projects.

 

About OSSA Printing

The OSSA printing house was created in 1963 and moved to the Place de l’Etoile in Luxembourg.
In 1969, Arthur Schmitz took over the management of the company, and in 1979, his younger brother Jean-Paul joined him. In June 2001, after some twenty years of effort and joint work, the Schmitz brothers had the satisfaction of moving into the new premises in Niederanven.
In 2009 Arthur Schmitz retired from the business. During the same year Jean-Paul Schmitz’s son, Laurent joined his father in the management of the company.
Together they have continued to invest and innovate so that the company can keep pace with today’s technologies.
Printing OSSA and the advertising agency O’MEDIAS employ about twenty people.
Professional commitment plays a significant role. Jean-Paul Schmitz has been President of AMIL (Association des Maîtres Imprimeurs) and a member of the committee of the Fédération des artisans for more than twenty years.

Press contact and questions about the project at myclimate Luxembourg

Laurent Majerus
T +352 2737 6342
[email protected]
www.myclimate.lu

Press contact and questions about the dossier at Printing OSSA

Laurent Schmitz T +352 45 47 03 1
[email protected]
www.ossa.lu

Printing OSSA : Imprimerie climatiquement neutre basée à Niederanven

Publié le 30 Mai, 2018

Depuis le 1er janvier 2018, l’imprimerie Printing OSSA, implantée à Niederanven, rejoint l’association sans but lucratif myclimate Luxembourg, leader dans la compensation carbone dans le secteur de l’imprimerie au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Depuis sa création, l’imprimerie OSSA a une philosophie de protection de l’environnement et d’utilisation rationnelle des ressources naturelles. En effet, l’imprimerie OSSA est membre de la Superdrëckskëscht depuis 15 ans et est certifié FSC depuis 10 ans. En 2017 l’éclairage de l’atelier et des bureaux ont été changées vers des ampoules LED. Les couleurs utilisées sont de la marque « Epple », Libre de toute huile minérale et conçue sur la base de matières premières végétales. Début 2018 l’imprimerie a changé de Camionnette vers la Norm Euro 6. Le choix de compenser l’intégralité de ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) inévitables s’ajoute à la continuité de cet engagement.
La première étape consiste à analyser les activités et flux de matériaux de l’imprimerie par myclimate Luxembourg. Cette inventaire carbone, basé sur le logiciel myclimate smart3, a été développé par myclimate et prend en compte entre autre la fabrication, le transport, les couleurs en amont et en aval. Ainsi l’imprimerie a une vue globale de ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre provenant de son activité.


Suite à cet inventaire, l’imprimerie compense volontairement l’intégralité de ses émissions carbones inévitables de son activité. Ainsi l’imprimerie sera récompensée par le label myclimate reconnu « Imprimerie climatiquement neutre ». Par le biais de la compensation, myclimate Luxembourg investira ce fonds récolté dans des projets qui répondent à des standards très exigeants. En plus des critères très stricts, ce projet contribue aux SDG (Sustainable Development Goals)

L’imprimerie Printing OSSA a décidé de dédier les fonds récoltés dans le projet : moins de déboisement dans la forêt tropicale de Kakamega (Kenya). Les fours Upesi produits localement permettent de réduire la consommation de bois et contribuent ainsi à la préservation de la végétation exceptionnelle et de la biodiversité de la forêt tropicale de Kakamega. Les fours sont dotés d’un système de combustion propre et produisent par conséquent moins de suie, ce qui a pour effet de diminuer les infections des voies respiratoires chez les femmes et les enfants. En freinant la déforestation et la consommation de bois de combustion, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et le temps passé par les femmes à chercher du bois pour le feu ont pu être réduits

Les effets positifs réalisés jusqu’à présent sont :

– 660 hectares de forêt vierge ne sont pas déboisés

– 38.000 fours efficaces sont installés

– 10 groupes de production de fours ont été créés

Le but primaire n’est pas de compenser, mais de réduire au maximum les émissions carbones provenant de son activité. Ainsi l’imprimerie Printing OSSA s’est engagée à effectuer annuellement une empreinte carbone pour mesurer concrètement les résultats de ses efforts dans l’avenir. Avec les experts de myclimate Luxembourg les principes restent « Éviter – réduire – compenser » et « Do the best and offset the rest »

Esch-sur-Alzette, le 30 mai 2018
A propos de myclimate Luxembourg
myclimate Luxembourg a.s.b.l. est une association qui a été lancée début juin 2008 par l’energieagence, le centre de recherche Public Henri Tudor (aujourd’hui : LIST) et Enovos Luxembourg. Myclimate compte parmi les plus grands fournisseurs de mesures volontaires de compensation dans le monde entier. Ses projets se caractérisent par le respect de critères très stricts. L’association propose en outre une offre complète de conseils en durabilité et sensibilise au changement climatique et à la protection du climat dans le cadre de projets d’éducation climatique.

A propos de l’imprimerie OSSA

L’imprimerie OSSA fut créée en 1963 et s’installa à la Place de l’Etoile à Luxembourg.
En 1969, Arthur Schmitz prit la direction de l’entreprise, et en 1979, son frère cadet Jean-Paul le rejoignit. En juin 2001, après quelques vingt ans d’efforts et de travail en commun, les frères Schmitz eurent la satisfaction d’emménager dans les nouveaux locaux à Niederanven.
En 2009 Arthur Schmitz s’est retiré des affaires. Pendant cette même année le fils de Jean-Paul Schmitz, Laurent a rejoint son père à la direction de l’entreprise.
Ensemble ils ont continué à investir et innover pour que l’entreprise soit à la hauteur des technologies d’aujourd’hui.
Printing OSSA et l’agence de publicité O’MEDIAS emploient une vingtaine de personnes.
L’engagement professionnel joue un rôle considérable. Jean-Paul Schmitz est depuis plus de vingt ans président de l’AMIL (Association des Maîtres Imprimeurs) et membre du comité de la Fédération des artisans.

Contact pour la presse et questions concernant le dossier chez myclimate Luxembourg

Laurent Majerus
T +352 2737 6342
[email protected]
www.myclimate.lu

Contact pour la presse et questions concernant le dossier chez Printing OSSA


Laurent Schmitz T +352 45 47 03 1
[email protected]
www.ossa.lu