Bakers can sell their bread from 4 a.m

Published on 26 Jan, 2018

Bakers, pastry chefs, butchers and other craftsmen working in the food industry will no longer be disadvantaged compared to petrol stations. The Ministry of Economy has granted them the right to open their business from 4 a.m. to 9 p.m.

(MF with M.G.) – Bakers, pastry chefs, butchers and other craftsmen working in the food industry will no longer be disadvantaged compared to petrol stations. The Ministry of Economy has granted them the right to open their business from 4 a.m. to 9 p.m.

This new derogation, in force since 22 January 2018, granted by the Ministry of Economy, is valid for one year only. Time to reshape the law. Small grocery stores can therefore extend their opening hours.

This derogation is in response to a request from the Fédération des artisans (which groups 51 professional federations in Luxembourg) made in December.

In fact, the case dates back to June 2015. The Berto bakery in Differdange wanted to sell its hot rolls and croissants from 5 a.m. just like the petrol stations a few hundred metres away.

The baker had asked the Ministry of Economy for permission, which then refused because “the law left me no other choice”, Minister Etienne Schneider explained at the time.

The 1995 law in force in Luxembourg provides that bakeries may not open before 6 a.m. and close at the latest by 8 p.m.

The baker had considered that the gas stations had a disadvantageous competitive advantage. Bread rolls and croissants sold very early in the morning can pay an employee, explains lawyer Jean-Paul Noesen.

This is why the Administrative Court dismissed the appeal of the Ministry of Economy.

Categories

logo design

Les boulangers peuvent vendre leur pain dès 4 heures

Boulangers, pâtissiers, bouchers et autres artisans exerçant des métiers de bouche ne seront plus défavorisés par rapport aux stations-essence. Le ministère de l’Economie leur a accordé le droit d’ouvrir leur commerce de 4 à 21 heures.

(MF avec M.G.) – Boulangers, pâtissiers, bouchers et autres artisans exerçant des métiers de bouche ne seront plus défavorisés par rapport aux stations-essence. Le ministère de l’Economie leur a accordé le droit d’ouvrir leur commerce de 4 à 21 heures.

Cette nouvelle dérogation en vigueur depuis le 22 janvier 2018, concédée par le ministère de l’Economie, est valable pour une durée d’un an seulement. Le temps de remodeler la loi. Les petites épiceries peuvent donc étendre leurs heures d’ouverture.

Cette dérogation répond à une demande de la Fédération des artisans (qui regroupe 51 fédérations professionnelles au Luxembourg) posée en décembre.

En réalité, l’affaire remonte à juin 2015. La boulangerie Berto à Differdange avait voulu vendre ses petits pains et ses croissants chauds à partir de 5 heures du matin tout comme les stations-service qui se trouvent quelques centaines de mètres plus loin.

Le boulanger avait demandé la permission au ministère de l’Economie qui avait alors refusé car «la loi ne me laissait pas d’autre choix», avait alors expliqué le ministre Etienne Schneider.

La loi de 1995 en vigueur au Luxembourg prévoit en effet que les boulangeries ne peuvent pas ouvrir avant 6 heures et fermer au plus tard à 20 heures.

Le boulanger avait estimé que les stations-essence avaient un avantage concurrentiel le défavorisant. Les petits pains et croissants vendus très tôt le matin, peuvent rémunérer un salarié, explique l’avocat Jean-Paul Noesen.

Raison pour laquelle le tribunal administratif a débouté en appel le ministère de l’Economie.

Commentaires

Ajouter un commentaire

mood_bad
  • Pas de commentaires pour le moment.
  • chat
    Ajouter un commentaire
    keyboard_arrow_up